Baryaal’s Weblog

Pied Piper’s Papa from Pakistan

It’s virtual, but hurts real…

with 6 comments

Having stayed active on quite a few online forums for many years, I had always taken words for granted, until I was rudely awakened just recently.  In an online exchange, I was being slightly misread by someone. I posted something, and got a response that was, to put it mildly, unexpected. I tried to salvage the situation with a humorous tilt (at least, I thought it was humorous), and there I was hit by another straight-slap-in-the-face of a response. I felt hurt, and simultaneously could feel the pain I must have caused at the other end. Feeling sorry, I was sure that any clarifications will further exacerbate the bitterness of the moment.  

In that one moment, so many instances where I had somehow deliberately evoked emotions online, flashed in my mind. Looking back, I now feel really sorry for all those who had silently drifted away from my virtual life, after those last exchanges which I had taken as virtual victories (sort of). I am now sure that most of them went quietly away, only because they knew that talking beyond the point would lead to further misunderstandings, hurt, and humiliation.

A little too late, but I have realized the full impact of virtual words. Virtual, but the pain can be real, and may give someone a sleepless night without you even knowing it!

Written by baryaal

March 29, 2008 at 1:42 am

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Take it easy dude. Virtual world is not that virtual afterall..instead it also comes with lot of one-dimensionalness which could be pretty scary..
    People in these online forums/blogs etc , in general, are not that mature as they want others to believe.
    It’s ok..dont bother much..

    lallopallo

    March 29, 2008 at 2:55 pm

  2. //Virtual, but the pain can be real// I agree, but //and may give someone a sleepless night without you even knowing it!// This is going too far. Take it easy Baryaal.

    pr3rna

    March 30, 2008 at 2:46 am

  3. @lallopallo
    Thanks man. Yes the written word itself is somewhat uni-dimensional with several limitations.

    @prerna
    Have you ever seen a child being misunderstood by someone?
    I hope I will take it in my stride next time. Thanks.

    baryaal

    March 31, 2008 at 10:09 pm

  4. Thats a good post! Yeah, virtual world is almost real! There is hardly anything unreal about it!!

    Nova

    April 7, 2008 at 2:02 am

  5. dont take things that personally in the cyber space. A lot of people just come here to rant and vent.

    Tazeen

    April 9, 2008 at 3:35 am

  6. Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Wheeler

    Wheeler

    June 20, 2008 at 5:28 am


Leave a Reply

